Saranac Lake honors student-athletes | News, Sports, Jobs

From left, Alex LaDue, outstanding female athlete; Bailey Bartholomew, outstanding male athlete; Nate McCarthy, the Stephen Hoyt award winner; and Bill Wilson, coach of the year, pose for a photo following Tuesday’s awards night at Saranac Lake High School.
(Provided photo)

SARANAC LAKE — Thirty-eight student-athletes were recognized and honored at the Saranac Lake High School’s annual end-of-the-year awards this past Tuesday.

Coaches from each sports team selected their most valuable athletes and red letter award winners — student-athletes who exemplify great character for their team — for their respective sports.

While it was a huge night for many Red Storm athletes, it was especially big for seniors Bailey Bartholomew and Alex LaDue. The pair were named Saranac Lake’s most outstanding athletes for the 2021-22 school year.

Bartholomew competed in three sports — soccer, hockey and track and field — while LaDue was a member of the girls’ soccer, basketball and lacrosse teams.

Senior Nate McCarthy — a three-sport athlete in football, basketball and unified basketball — was awarded the Stephen Hoyt award. The award is given to an athlete who is loyal to SLHS athletics and wants to be involved in athletics after high school, while also having good sportsmanship and a willingness to give back what athletics has done for him or her.

Logan Baker, a junior, and Evan Willett, a sophomore, were also honored with the Johnny Kent award and the Tad Daso award, respectively.

The Johnny Kent award, also known as the “good guy in sports” award, is given to a varsity football player who is a great teammate, loves sports and plays to the best of his or her abilities. The Tad Daso award is given to a first or second-year hockey player who shows the most grit and determination.

Saranac Lake boys track and field coach Bill Wilson was honored as the coach of the year.

This year, five Red Storm teams were able to win a sectional title. The teams included volleyball, boys cross country, football, boys Nordic skiing and boys’ track and field.

2021-22 June Sports Awards

Outstanding Male Athlete: Bailey Bartholomew

Outstanding Female Athlete: Alex LaDue

Stephen Hoyt: Nate McCarthy

Tad Duso: Evan Willett

Johnny Kent: Logan Baker

Coach of the Year: Bill Wilson


Boys Soccer

MVP: Bailey Bartholomew

Red Letter: Gabe Wilson

Girls Soccer

MVP: Lydia Wamsganz

Red Letter: Alex LaDue


MVP: Tailor Whitson

Red Letter: Mia Sanford

Cross Country Boys

MVP: Sam Ash

Red Letter: Aiden Hesseltine

Cross Country Girls

MVP: Megan Wilson

Red Letter: Sara Trabakoulos


MVP: Carter Hewitt

Red Letter: Camren Beckwith


Boys Basketball

MVP: Nate McCarthy

Red Letter: Landon Faubert

Girls Basketball

MVP: Kylee Meyer

Red Letter: Alison Hewitt

Nordic Skiing Girls

MVP: Tyler Burth

Red Letter: Jordanna Samburgh

Nordic Skiing Boys

MVP: Owen Keal

Red Letter: Sam Ash

Alpine Skiing Boys

MVP: Will Miemis

Red Letter: Evan Hochwald

Alpine Skiing Girls

MVP: Zoe Carpenter

Red Letter: Mayah Land

Boys Hockey

MVP: Bailey Bartholomew

Red Letter: Bailey Bartholomew

Girls Hockey

MVP: Dariana Patterson (LP)

Red Letter: Sydney Dann

Indoor Track Girls

MVP: Mia Sanford

Red Letter: Lydia Wamsganz

Indoor Track Boys

MVP: Mitchell Ellsworth

Red Letter: Robbie Sinclair


Boys Baseball

MVP: Benjamin Clark

Red Letter: Owen Casler

Girls Softball

MVP: Karlie Goetz

Red Letter: Alex Whitson


MVP: Noah Jewtraw

Red Letter: Colin Rutgers

Girls Lacrosse

MVP: Alex LaDue

Red Letter: Sydney Dann

Boys Track

MVP: Gabe Wilson

Red Letter: Ben Isabella

Girls Track

MVP: Lydia Wamsganz

Red Letter: Megan Wilson

Unified Basketball

MVP: Cody McDuff-Taylor

Red Letter: Brennan Rutledge

Today’s breaking news and more in your inbox